Data management, storage infrastructures

Good practises

TL;DR

  • draft a DMP (ask for help from sos-calcul or from the UGA Data Stewardship Unit;
  • document the data;
  • designate a permanent member as data manager for each project;
  • use the project shared directories;
    • /silenus/PROJECTS/ on Dahu and Bigfoot;
    • /bettik/PROJECTS/ on Dahu, Bigfoot and Luke;
    • /scratch/PROJECTS/ on Froggy;
  • do not store project data in your home directory, particularly for temporary members;
  • use the best suited storage space for your needs.

Recommendations

Some generalrules concerning data management apply particularly to the data storage systems of the GRICAD computing infrastructures.

In particular, it is strongly recommended to use the shared project storage spaces available on the different clusters, detailed below. This practice is generally preferable as it allows for more flexibility and efficiency within a project. It is especially important in the case of temporary collaborators, trainees, doctoral students, etc., for whom the data contained in the personal directory will be deleted after the expiry of the Perseus account.

These common storage spaces for projects, as proposed on the GRICAD computing infrastructures, offer the advantage of correctly managing access rights, by automatically authorising them to all members of the group but refusing them to people who are not members of the project, which avoids having to do this operation oneself since, by default, the data is authorised in read mode to all people who have access to the clusters.

The drafting of a DMP, even if it may seem restrictive and time-consuming, makes it possible to enhance the value of the data produced within the framework of a research project and is therefore very quickly profitable, even for small projects. Moreover, GRICAD and the UGA Data Stewardship Unit can help you create this DMP.

It is important to think about the life of the data, beyond the duration of the participation in a project of a temporary collaborator, trainee, doctoral student or post-doctoral student, and to think about what will happen to them after the end of the collaboration and the closing of the Perseus account, which will make them inaccessible if they are not properly managed. In this respect, support on this subject from the project managers is very important for these users who are not necessarily familiar with the structure of the storage systems set up on the computing clusters. To ensure the best possible management of this function, do not hesitate to contact us by writing to sos-calcul so that we can guide you or confirm you in your current uses.

Data storage infrastructures

Due to the volumes and high throughput of data on the GRICAD computing facilities, please be aware that there are NO BACKUPS of any data anywhere!

There are different storage infrastructures available to GRICAD HPC users:

High performance distributed scratch

Cloud storage

Cluster wide shared storage

  • 90Tb Lustre scratch on Froggy
  • Accessible via /scratch.
  • Per cluster home directories
  • These home directories spaces are relatively small compared to the number of users on the clusters. They are not made to store data;
  • They are meant for operational code storage;
  • For data, please use other available storage spaces.

Local scratch

  • Some nodes of the Luke cluster have local scratch spaces. These scratch spaces are dedicated to projects with specific needs which are not met by other existing solutions.

SUMMER

  • It is possible to mount SUMMER storage volumes as NFS shares on the Luke and Dahu clusters. If you have SUMMER volumes you wish to have mounted on our clusters please contact us. Please get in touch with the teams of project managers of the shares for volumes already mounted on the clusters.

These different infrastructures serve different needs and are tuned to offer different characteristics.

As there is NO BACKUP of any data, users are advised to use available solutions to secure their data.

For codes it is strongly advised to use a versioning system, preferably one with a high level of tolerance to failure. For example GRICAD provides such a service via gricad-gitlab.

For computing data which will be hosted on the Mantis infrastructure, you are strongly encouraged to use a backup system either within your laboratory or to use institutionnal services such as SUMMER


Data safety

Although all our infrastructures are designed to be as tolerant to failure as possible within the limits imposed by available technologies and operating constraints, due to the very large scale of the infrastructures hardware failures cannot be entirely mitigated and data loss cannot entirely be guaranteed never to happen. There also is no backup and therefore no protection against human error. We cannot guarantee there will never be any loss of data. You are therefore strongly advised to take appropriate measures.

Gestion des données, infrastructures de stockage

Bonnes pratiques

En bref

  • faire un DMP (demander de l’aide à sos-calcul-gricad@univ-grenoble-alpes.fr ou à la cellule data de l’UGA ;
  • documenter les données ;
  • designer un membre permanent responsable des données pour chaque projet ;
  • utiliser les répertoires de stockages partagés par projet ;
    • /silenus/PROJECTS/ sur Dahu et Bigfoot ;
    • /bettik/PROJECTS/ sur Dahu, Bigfoot et Luke ;
    • /scratch/PROJECTS/ sur Froggy.
  • ne pas stocker des données de projet dans son répertoire personnel, surtout pour les membres temporaires ;
  • utiliser des espaces de stockage adaptés.

Recommandations

Quelques règles générales concernant la gestion des données s’appliquent tout particulièrement aux infrastructures de stockage des données des moyens de calcul de GRICAD.

En particulier, il est fortement recommandé d’utiliser les espaces de stockage communs aux projets disponibles sur les différents clusters, détaillés ci-après. Cette pratique est généralement préférable car elle accorde plus de souplesse et d’efficacité au sein d’un projet. Elle est surtout très importante dans le cas de collaborateurs temporaires, stagiaires, doctorants etc pour qui les données contenues dans le répertoire personnel seront effacées après l’expiration du compte PERSEUS.

Ces espaces de stockage communs par projets, tels que proposés sur les infrastructures de calcul GRICAD offrent l’avantage de gérer correctement les droits d’accès, en les autorisant automatiquement à tous les membres du groupe mais en les refusant aux personnes qui ne sont pas membres du projet, ce qui évite d’avoir à faire cette opération soi-même puisque, par défaut, les données sont autorisées en lecture à toutes les personnes ayant un accès un accès sur les clusters.

La rédaction d’un DMP, même si elle peut paraître contraignante et chronophage, permet de valoriser les données produites dans le cadre d’un projet de recherche et est donc très rapidement rentable, même pour de petits projets. Par ailleurs, GRICAD et la Cellule Data de l’UGA peuvent vous accompagner sur la création de ce DMP.

Il est important de penser à la vie de la donnée, au delà de la durée de la participation à un projet d’un collaborateur temporaire, stagiaire, doctorant ou post-doctorant, et de penser à ce qu’il en adviendra après la fin de la collaboration et la fermeture du compte PERSEUS qui les rendra inaccessibles si elles ne sont pas correctement gérées. À ce titre, un accompagnement sur ce sujet de la part des responsables de projets est très important pour ces utilisateurs qui ne connaissent pas nécessairement la structure des systèmes de stockage mis en place sur les clusters de calcul. Pour assurer au mieux cette fonction n’hésitez pas à nous solliciter en écrivant à sos-calcul-gricad@univ-grenoble-alpes.fr afin que nous puissions vous guider ou vous conforter dans vos usages actuels.

Infrastructures de stockage des données

Merci de noter qu’il n’y a AUCUNE SAUVEGARDE mise en oeuvre par GRICAD, à cause des importants volumes et débits de données sur les infrastructures de calcul.

Il y a différentes infrastructures de stockage disponibles pour les utilisateurs des clusters de calcul de GRICAD :

Scratch distribué haute performance

Stockage dans le nuage

Stockage pour la fouille de données

Stockage global par cluster

  • Scratch Lustre de 90To sur Froggy
    • Accessible via /scratch.
  • Dossiers personnels des clusters
    • Ces dossiers personnels sont de taille limité par rapport aux nombre d’utilisateurs des clusters. Ils ne sont pas destinés à stocker des données ;
    • Le code opérationnel peut y être stocké ;
    • Pour les données, utilisez les autres espaces de stockage disponibles.

Scratchs locaux

  • Certains noeuds du cluster Luke disposent d’espaces scratch locaux. Ces espaces sont dédiés à des projets ayant des besoins spécifiques qui ne peuvent être traités via les autres solutions existantes.

SUMMER

  • Il est possible, sur les clusters Luke et Dahu, de monter des volumes de stockage SUMMER en tant que partages NFS. Si vous disposez de volumes SUMMER que vous souhaitez faire monter sur nos clusters, merci de sos-calcul-gricad@univ-grenoble-alpes.fr. Pour les volumes déjà montés sur les clusters, merci de vous orienter vers les équipes ou les responsables de projets propriétaires de ces espaces.

Ces différentes infrastructures servent des usages spécifiques pour lesquels elles sont optimisées en offrant caractéristiques adaptées.

Comme il n’y a aucune sauvegarde des données, nous vous encourageons vivement à vous tourner vers des solutions qui vous sont accessibles pour sécuriser vos données.

Pour les codes il est fortement recommandé d’utiliser un système de versionnement, de préférence avec un haut degré de tolérance aux pannes. GRICAD propose un tel service via gricad-gitlab.

Pour les données de calcul qui stockées sur les infrastructures de calcul GRICAD il est fortement recommandé d’utiliser un system de sauvegarde au sein de votre laboratoire ou un service institutionnel tel que SUMMER


Sûreté des données

Bien que nos infrastructures sont concues pour être aussi tolérantes aux pannes que possible dans la limite des technologies disponibles et des contraintes opérationnelles, leur taille fait que des défaillances matérielles ne peuvent être entièrement exclues et il est par conséquent impossible d’éviter une potentielle perte de données. Il n’y aussi aucune sauvegarde et donc aucune protection contre une erreur de manipulation humaine. Pour toutes ces raisons vous êtes très vivement recommandés de prendre des mesures de protection et de sécurisation appropriées.